Pot smokers and weed-curious individuals of Arizona rejoice: 2021 is the year that recreational marijuana finally became legal in Arizona! Gone are the days of meeting for a clandestine handoff in a seedier part of town and hiding your weed in the back of your sock drawer. Now there are loud-and-proud marijuana dispensaries with a full selection of righteous bud that can be legally purchased and stored in clear jars right in your living room.
But just like any other legal substance, recreational marijuana does have some rules surrounding its purchase and consumption. Here are some of the Arizona recreational marijuana rules you should know.
Laws similar to alcohol
The rules for recreational marijuana are similar in nature to the rules for alcohol. For example, recreational marijuana cannot be sold to anyone under 21 years of age and cannot be consumed by anyone under 21 years of age. It’s illegal to smoke marijuana in public places, both recreationally and medically. Medical patients, however, are allowed to consume marijuana in edible forms in public as long as they’re not behind the wheel.
Speaking of which, it’s also illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana, so don’t toke and drive! This is a misdemeanor under Arizona state law and is punishable by license suspension, fines and even jail time depending on the circumstances of the incident.
On the job
Even though marijuana is legal for both medical and recreational use, under Arizona recreational marijuana rules, an employer does still have the right to implement and enforce policies in the workplace restricting the use of marijuana. Bottom line, it’s probably not a good idea to smoke at work or right before work or on your break at work—you get the idea.
How to buy marijuana
Most of the country has seen legalization of marijuana in some form, and much of that has been for recreational use as well as medical use. Many of these states, including California, have thriving delivery services that allow you to order weed through an app or website to be delivered right to your door. But that’s not legal in Arizona—yet.
As it stands right now, marijuana must be purchased at a licensed dispensary, but the Arizona Department of Health Services has indicated that that may change in the near future, stating that it may adopt regulations to permit marijuana delivery beginning sometime between January 1, 2023 and January 1, 2025.
Finally, there is a limit to the amount of weed you can buy at a dispensary. Licensed dispensaries cannot sell more than 1 ounce at a time to recreational customers (the limit is 2.5 ounces for medical customers).
Coughing Canary is proud to be the largest smoke shop in Arizona, open seven days a week and serving customers in Phoenix, Tempe, Scottsdale, Chandler, Mesa and the surrounding areas. To learn more about Arizona recreational marijuana rules and to find the best smoking accessories, visit us today. We look forward to helping you make the perfect selection!
Categorised in: Smoke Shop
This post was written by Writer